The Currey Award - History and Winners


Professor Harry Currey established the Chrystal Currey Award in 1974 in memory of his late wife Chrystal. She was the first Secretary to the Civic Society, formed in 1965 to counter the threat to demolish the Corn Exchange and rebuild the town centre.
The Civic Society, under the leadership of Henry Moore then living at Perry Green, successfully persuaded the Public Enquiry that the Corn Exchange and the very heart of the market town should be protected and preserved. However, several notable buildings – including the Georgian offices of the Urban District Council and the open-air swimming pool donated to the town by Sir Walter Gilbey – were destroyed, and the River was diverted from its historic course.
Harry Currey was anxious to encourage new building of lasting beauty which would enhance the appearance of the Town, and established this annual competition for an Award to recognise – in the opinion of a panel of local judges – the best contribution. When Professor Currey died in 1998 his then wife, Dr Jacqueline Currey, became President of the Society and the competition was renamed "The Currey Award".

Previous Winners  Top 

Year Winner
2016 Red Close (site of the former Red Cow public house)
Special Commendation for the front redevelopment of the former Pearsons store
2015 Pearse House and grounds, Parsonage Lane
Special Commendation for the Memorial Gardens, Newtown Road
2014 Coopers Redevelopment
2013 The Rye Street Housing Development
Special Commendation for the Baptist Church and the Castle Moat refurbishment.
2011 The Windhill Churches Centre  Map 
Special Commendation for the Nags Head public house.
2010 The Bridge House, Newtown Road  Map 
Special Award to Stortford in Bloom.
2008 Residential Development, William Searing Close  Map 
Special Commendation for River Stort Footbridge
2006 The Ferguson Building, Bishop's Stortford College
Special Commendation for the Rhodes Arts Complex
2004 (Joint winners) Saffron Building Society & Host Terrace restaurant
2003 Herts & Essex Community Hospital
2001 Island Court
2000 Carr & Bury and the floodlighting for the churches of St Michael, Bishop's Stortford and St James, Thorley
1999 Special Commendation for
Clement Joscelyne rebuilding
1997 Stort Riverbank (in the town centre)
1996 Post House Restaurant
1994 Waitrose
1993 Foxley Lodge
1991 Exceptional Award for the Town Mural
1988 Causeway House
1986 Cedar Court
1983 Coach & Horses, Hockerill
1982 Hanscombe/Flynns (now Coopers of Stortford)
1981 Windhill street lighting
1979 Whitehall College
1977 Newtown Development
1975 The Corn Exchange