Local Government in Bishop's Stortford


The local government of Bishop's Stortford is managed by three tiers of councils - Hertfordshire County Council, East Herts District Council and the Town Council. Together, these three councils are responsible for running most of the local services of the town:

Hertfordshire County Council is responsible for running services across the whole of Hertfordshire, including: East Herts District Council is responsible for running the following services: Bishop's Stortford Town Council is responsible for very local services which include:

Elections  Top 

County Council Elections Updated for May 2017 Elections!

For county council elections, the Bishop’s Stortford area is divided into three districts comprising Bshop's Stortford East, Bishop's Stortford West and Bishop's Stortford Rural. County council elections are held at least once every four years and each ward elects a number of county councillors. County councillors can, and often do, serve on more local and/or district councils.

County councillors elected in the elections of May 2017
Bishop's Stortford East
County Councillor John Wyllie (Conservative)
(elected May 2017)
Bishop's Stortford West
County Councillor Colin Woodward (Conservative)
(elected May 2017)
Bishop's Stortford Rural
County Councillor Graham McAndrew (Conservative)
(elected May 2017)

Local and District Council Elections

For local and district council elections, Bishop’s Stortford is divided into five districts, or wards  Map . Local elections are held at least once every four years and each ward elects a number of local, and district councillors. Councillors can, and often do, serve on more than one council.

Local and district councillors elected in the election of May 2015
All Saints Ward
District Councillors Mike Casey (Conservative)
Stan Stainsby (Conservative)
Colin Woodward (Conservative)
Local Councillors Ana de Melo Baptista (Conservative)
Justine Duggan (Conservative)
Stan Stainsby (Conservative)
Colin Woodward (Conservative)
Central Parish Ward
District Councillors George Cutting (Conservative)
Holly Drake (Conservative)
Norma Symonds (Conservative)
Local Councillors George Cutting (Conservative)
Holly Drake (Conservative)
Ralph Gilbert (Conservative)
Norma Symonds (Conservative)
Meads Ward
District Councillors Daniel Abbott (Conservative)
Keith Warnell (Conservative)
Local Councillors Daniel Abbott (Conservative)
Gill Campbell (Conservative)
Philip Demonti (Conservative)
Silverleys Ward
District Councillors Tim Page (Conservative)
Gary Jones (Conservative)
Local Councillors Gary Jones (Conservative)
Tim Page (Conservative)
Alastair Ward-Booth (Conservative)
South Ward
District Councillors Diane Hollebon (Conservative) - Town Mayor
Graham McAndrew (Conservative)
John Wyllie (Conservative)
Local Councillors Diane Hollebon (Conservative) - Town Mayor
Keith Warnell (Conservative)
John Wyllie (Conservative)
Linda Gray (Conservative)

Funding  Top 

Local councils are funded by a combination of grants from central government, Council Tax and business rates. Central government provides specific and general grants to enable local authorities to deliver all the necessary services. To divide up the funding, the government uses a system that takes into account the number and value of properties in each area, and how much it costs to provide services there.

Council Tax

The Council Tax provides about a quarter of local funding. The local authority (East Herts District Council) sets the total Council Tax it needs to raise, based on its overall budget for the year. Each household pays an amount depending on the value of their home. The government has powers to ensure that increases in local authority budgets and Council Tax are not excessive.

Business Rates

Business rates are a property tax on businesses and other non-domestic properties. Their formal name is national non-domestic rates. The national rates are set by central government. The revenue is collected by local authorities, pooled by central government, and then redistributed to local authorities.